RICWMA is a municipal joint action agency serving thirteen governments in Rock Island County, Illinois to assist and coordinate its members in solid waste management. The Villages/Cities of Andalusia, Carbon Cliff, Coal Valley, Cordova, East Moline, Hampton, Milan, Moline, Port Byron, Rapids City, Rock Island, and Silvis along with Rock Island County are members.

RICWMA Celebrates America Recycles Day – November 15, 2022

November 15 is America Recycles Day. Rock Island County residents are encouraged to “Think Green Before You Shop.” Reducing waste is a top priority. Careful choices can reduce discarded items, save energy, conserve resources, and create a healthier environment.

Recycling follows reducing waste. Cities and villages in Rock Island County offer curbside recycling for their residents. Help your community’s recycling program by being a clean recycler. Items need to be disposed of properly, so recycled materials are clean and marketable for another use. Drop-off sites sponsored by Midland Davis in Moline and the Waste Commission of Scott County serve Rock Island County residents who don’t have access to a municipal curbside recycling program.

Examples of ACCEPTABLE recycling materials and proper handling include:

  • Flattened and broken down cardboard boxes
  • Other cardboard packaging materials
  • Tissue paper
  • Cleaned and rinsed plastic food and beverage containers.

Examples of unacceptable materials and items that are NOT recyclable:

  • All forms of Styrofoam
  • Hard, brittle types of plastic materials
  • Clear plastic wrappers from cartons and boxes.


Back to top